Wichita Falls Police Department

Chief Manuel Borrego
Address 610 Holliday Street
Wichita Falls TX 76301
Phone 940-761-7792
Website http://www.wichitafallstx.gov/17/Police


Our mission is to provide exceptional police service and protection for our community


•Observance of the Law
•Equal Treatment


The Wichita Falls Police Department was established in 1890 with a chief and four officers. The first Chief of Police was Charles Bryan, who served from 1891-1906. There have been a total of 22 Police Chiefs from 1890-2006. The longest-serving Chief was C.C “Bud “Daniel, who served 28 years from 1949-1977. There were Police Chiefs who only did a few weeks and others who served twenty years. In 1921 the department had four different Police Chiefs.

Chief "Bud" Daniel was recognized as quite an innovator. He was responsible for beginning the Recruit Training Academy, which is still being used today; the WFPD also became a Civil Service Police Department under his watch. Chief Daniel was responsible for placing the first women in the role of police officers. Chief Curtis Harrelson was the first to hire women for the position of Police Officer and train them in the Wichita Falls Police Academy as equally trained and fully functioning Patrol Officers.

This page may contain sensitive information. Please securely destroy any printouts of this page.
© 2010 - 2024 PoliceApp.com. All rights reserved.
Law Enforcement & Police Officer Recruitment Within the Wichita Falls TX Police Department.  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use  |  Mobile Site