Douglas County Sheriff's Office

Sheriff Thomas J. Wheeler
Address 3601 N. 156th Street
Omaha NE 68116
Phone (402) 444-6641

During the 1800s migration westward, many of the people making the long trip from the eastern part of the country decided to stop in the young territory of Nebraska on the western banks of the Missouri River. Douglas County began to grow and the people of the area wanted someone to protect them from outsiders and themselves. This need brought about the Sheriff of Douglas County and his Deputies.

The very first Sheriff, P.G. Peterson, was appointed and from that point forward by statute all Sheriffs are elected into office, with the exception of retirement appointments. The first Sheriff to be elected was Cameron Reeves on October 8, 1856 who took office in January 1857. There have been 30 Sheriffs for Douglas County; the first five prior to Nebraska's statehood. The current Sheriff, Thomas J. Wheeler, was appointed after the retirement of Sheriff Timothy Dunning. Sheriff Wheeler took office on January 1st, 2021.

Today, with a population of 571,327, Douglas County has the largest population of all 93 counties in Nebraska, and includes the state's largest city. Douglas County covers 331 square miles bordered by the Missouri River on the east, Platte River on the west, Dutch Hall Road on the north and Harrison Street on the south.

"As a member of the Douglas County Sheriff’s Office, I commit myself to ensuring the safety and trust of all people, with integrity and respect; and to having the courage to uphold the law, professionally and with sensitivity and fairness. I take responsibility for the protection of the citizens of Douglas County, and am accountable for my actions in serving them."

Core Values

  • Sensitivity
  • Excellence
  • Integrity
  • Professionalism
  • Accountability
  • Efficiency
  • Service
  • Protection
  • Public Trust
This page may contain sensitive information. Please securely destroy any printouts of this page.
© 2010 - 2024 All rights reserved.
Law Enforcement & Police Officer Recruitment Within the NE Douglas County Sheriffs Office Police Department.  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use  |  Mobile Site